April 28th Injured Worker National Day of Mourning


On April 28 we gather to remember workers killed, suffer disease or injury on the job in Canada. To learn more about the Day of Mourning Click Here 


Guelph & District Labour council is hosting a Day of Mourning Event in Guelph:


Sunday April 28, 2019 at 10:30 am

at Market Square, Guelph. Then march to Goldie Mill Park for service at 11:00 am.

There will be a reception at the Wooly Pub 176 Woolwich St immediately following the service.

All are welcome.

For info: call the Guelph and District Labour Council at (519) 823-1030 

June 1st - Injured Workers' Day Rally & March (at Toronto)


Every year on June 1st injured workers from across Ontario converge on Queenspark in Toronto, then march to the Ministry of Labour.   

May 2, 2019 - Look at the Draft National Strategy for Disability and Work in Canada


 The Disability and Work in Canada Steering Committee has developed a vision for, and the main pillars of, a pan-Canadian strategy that will help guide efforts to increase employment opportunities for people with disabilities in Canada. Members of the Steering Committee with ties to the injured worker community are interested in hearing responses from the community regarding the strategy.

The next in the Bancroft Policy and Research Discussion series is scheduled for 

Thursday May 2nd from 11:00 – 4:00 pm 

at Friends House in Toronto 

to discuss and provide opportunity for comment on the draft strategy. The session will begin with an overview of the Strategy, followed by reflections and comments from participants.  The comments will be recorded to inform the Disability and Work in Canada Steering Committee as they complete their work on the national strategy.

Please save the date in your calendar for this important discussion.


May 14, 2019 - Injured Worker Province Wide Day of Action Tuesday May 14th, 2019


On May 14th, ONIWG is organizing a province-wide Injured Worker Day of Action. So far, we have seven communities committed to holding actions: Windsor, St Catharines, Peel, Thunder Bay, Manitoulin, Toronto, and 

Wellington & Dufferin Counties